ERF Fellowship Program

A one-year program for board eligible Otolaryngologists

About Our Program

The Ear Research Foundation (ERF) Fellowship was established in 1983 as the third Otology/Neurotology Clinical Fellowship in the United States. It is a one-year program for board eligible Otolaryngologists. The post-graduate Fellows gain specialized training and cutting edge experience in the field of Otology/Neurotology.

Apply to Fellowship Program                Meet Our Fellows SERF LOGIN



Fellowship Opportunities

The Ear Research Foundation strives to educate its Fellows through a didactic, hands-on experience. 

Clinical Experience

  • Supervised hands-on surgery
  • See private and Community Care patients in clinic two days a week
  • Access to a complete microsurgical laboratory, as well as an audiovisual and scientific library for ear physicians and surgeons. 
  • Take emergency room calls on a rotating basis

Mentorship + Education

  • Society of Ear Research Foundation Fellows (SERFs Up) meets twice a year for educational interchange and fellowship
  • Fellowship Teaching Conference meets once per week to discuss difficult cases and various research projects with the teaching staff


  • Each Fellow conducts research and documentation for several research papers during their tenure.
  • Present projects and findings at national meetings
  • Conduct prospective studies

Want to Be the Next Fellow?

Learn more about the process and submit an application

Apply to Fellowship Program

Fellow Achievements
  • Over 250 scientific papers have been published by the Fellows and staff
  • All of the Fellows successfully graduated to become contributing members of the medical community.
  • Many Fellows are in the Triological Society and the American Otological Society.
  • Ten (10) Fellows are in academic medicine; and many others are in private practice with a University affiliation.
  • Many Fellow graduates give teaching courses at the AAO; and also have achieved national recognition.
  • Dr. Raleigh Jones has been Chairman of Department of Otolaryngology at the University of Kentucky since he graduated the fellowship in 1988.
  • Dr’s Jack Wazen, Tom Haberkamp, Michael Seidman, Michael Hoffer, Eric Smouha, Hayes Wanamaker, and Seth Rosenberg are all well-known nationally.
  • Dr. Wazen frequently performs and teaches the surgical removal of acoustic neuroma, a noncancerous tumor that develops on the main nerve leading from the inner ear to the brain.
Program Directors


Dr. Jack Wazen


Dr. Seth Rosenberg

Society of Ear Research Foundation Fellows

The Society of Ear Research Foundation Fellows (SERFs UP) meets twice a year at the American Academy of Otolaryngology Annual Meeting and another selected location for educational interchange and fellowship. As of 2022, 48 fellows have graduated the program and become members of SERFs UP. 

Meet the Members